Delta 2023: Oshimili South Leaders Lauds DC-23 Approach, Says They Believe Firmly On Okowa’s Directive 




Political leaders of Oshimili South Local Government Area of Delta State have lauded the Delta Central 2023 (DC-23) lobby group approach towards the forthcoming elections, just as they advised politicians in the state against heating up the polity.


The leaders made this known when leaders and members of DC-23 paid consultation visit to the political leaders of Oshimili South Local Government Area at Asaba, Delta state.

Speaking on behalf of the leaders, Chief Edwin Uzor, former State Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party, said they believed firmly in the directive of the state governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa.


“It is where he said we should go that we will go. But we want to advise against heating up the polity in the state because its not necessary. What you people are doing is very good because we have been following your activities.


“The current politicking in the state is not new, It is expected and usual. It is the beauty of democracy but we will do our best at the appropriate time when we get directive from our governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa”, he added.

Earlier, National Chairman of Delta Central 2023 (DC-23), Senator (Chief) Ighoyota Amori in his speech, stated that DC-23 is a lobby group made up of card carrying members of the PDP in Delta Central Senatorial District with aim to lobby for the governorship seat to rotate to the Central come 2023.


He noted that the DC-23 is not different from G-3 of Delta South Senatorial District that was formed to drive the process of election of immediate past governor of Delta state, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and Anioma Agenda that was formed in 2014 to propel the process of election of the current governor of the state, Senator (Dr.) Ifeanyi Okowa.


According to him, “those who want to contest against aspirants of Delta Central Senatorial District have their argument for the governorship seat likewise us but we can’t talk of zoning on ethnic lines because the state is made up of various ethnic groups like Urhobo, Ijaw, Itsekiri, Isoko, Ika, Ndokwa, Oshimili, Aniocha and few others, hence the appeal for us to maintain the zoning arrangement on senatorial districts line”.


“We want to establish a sustainable system where when it gets to the turn of your senatorial district, no one from other senatorial districts will contest against the benefitting district. So the argument that Urhobo or other ethnic groups contested during the turn of other senatorial districts will no longer be there”, he added.


He pointed out that the DC-23 is not lobbying or campaigning for any aspirant but to ensure that the governorship seat moves to Delta Central Senatorial District in 2023.


He appealed to the political leaders of Oshimili South Local Government Area to support the DC-23 push for zoning arrangement on senatorial districts line to enable the PDP rule beyond 2023.


Those that received DC-23 leaders and members include High Chief Edwin Uzor, Ogbueshi Douglas Okolotu, Hon. Shedrack Rapu, Hon. Barr. Bridget Anyafulu, Hon. Chief Mrs. Monu-Olaruwaju, Hon. Emeka Okonji, Evang. Ebielim Maduemezia, Elder Chukwuma Belonwu, Chief John Agunya, Mrs. Ify Ogbogu, Engr. Smart Mega, Olorogun Ngozi Okolie, Mrs. Ngozi Nwabuonwu, Alhaji Anwulu, Mr. Ngozi Okolotu, Hon. Eloke Anekwu, Hon. Olisa Onyeka, Hon. Chike Osadebey, Mr. Ifesiekwu Chike and Hon. Anthony Onyia


Top among leaders and members of DC-23 that went for the visit include Chief Ighoyota Amori, Hon. Reuben Izeze, 1st National Vice Chairman, Chief Suru Salami, 2nd National Vice Chairman, Dr. Chris Oharisi, Olorogun Taleb Tebite, National Financial Secretary, National Secretary, Olorogun Barr Arthur Akpowowo, National Publicity Secretary, Chief Christian Onogba, Assistant National Organizing Secretary, Hon (Chief) Sunday Apah, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Hon. Godwin Atose, National Organizing Secretary, Hon. Festus Pemu, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Austin Opubor, National Welfare Officer and Hon. Elohor Urhobe, Assistant National Women Leader.


Others are Chief Ejaife Odebala, Former House of Assembly member, Olorogun Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman of BoT, Chief Mrs. Philomena Oyearone, Chief Andy Osawota, Chief Eunice Okoh, Chief (Dr.) Isaac Akpoveta, Engr. Eric Osiobe, Hon. Onoriode Ishegbe, Mr. Godfrey Etabuko, Chief (Mrs.) Alice Ogba, Noreen Ughojor, Chief Victor Otuburu, Chief Collins Eboh, Prince Robinson Samuel, Chief Abraham Ojighoro, Chief Solomon Oturu, Mrs Iroro Mado, Emmanuel Oghomanor, Okor James, Chief Lucky Emojeya, Wilson Agbure, Chief Moses Orhokpor, Mr. David Ejukonemu, Francis Onogbo, Lucky Esokpor, Godwin Oke, Chief Israel Abido, Ese Omamogho, Omonena Opuoru, Okakuro Blessing Erhiawaren Representatives of Olorogun Kenneth Okpara, Representatives of Rt. Hon. Festus Ovie Agas, Representatives of Olorogun David Edevbie, Representatives, Representatives of Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Representatives of Chief James Augoye and a host of others.

Omamuzo Efidhere

Omamuzo Efidhere is a registered member of the Nigerian Union of Journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *