Delta 2023: Put Your House In Order, Delta North Monarchs Advises Delta Central



*Says New Broom Sweeps Well But Old Broom Sweeps Better


Traditional rulers of Delta North Senatorial District under the aegis of Delta North Traditional Rulers Council has stated that the Urhobo people have contributed to the good and happiness of the people of Delta north divide.


The monarchs who spoke through the Chairman of Delta State Traditional Rulers Council, His Royal Majesty, Dr. Emmanuel Efeizomor II, Obi of Owa, stated rhetorically that a new broom sweeps well but old broom sweeps better.


According to him, “when we say Urhobo wadoo, we know that we are talking to people who are part of us in this divide. So your lobby across the state is an indication that we are already talking about peace and harmony of our great state come 2023, and that is what you are here for.


“We are very appreciative that you recognized us the traditional rulers from the Delta North extraction and for bringing this important message to us. We are happy to receive you for many reasons because It is not easy to serve humanity.


“Your people have done well, we have not forgotten the role of late General David Ejoor, Chief Jereton Mariere who lived with us here. I want to say new broom sweeps well but the old broom sweeps better. I just decided to call some of those names for you to know that we have friends that we cannot easily forget”.


While appealing to leaders and members of DC-23 present to support Governor Ifeanyi Okowa to finish well and strong, the monarch advised DC-23 to go home and put their house in order for easy politicking come 2023.


“This message you have brought is very vital but we will put it in prayers to enable us smile at the end”, he added.


Earlier, National Chairman of Delta Central 2023, Chief Senator Ighoyota Amori in his speech, told the monarchs that the visit was to seek for prayers from them.


He explained that DC-23 is a lobby group made up of card carrying members of the PDP in Delta Central Senatorial District with aim to lobby for the governorship seat to rotate to the Central come 2023.


He noted that the DC-23 is not different from G-3 of Delta South Senatorial District that was formed to drive the process of election of immediate past governor of Delta state, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and Anioma Agenda that was formed in 2014 to propel the process of election of the current governor of the state, Senator (Dr.) Ifeanyi Okowa.


According to him, “those who want to contest against aspirants of Delta Central Senatorial District have their argument for the governorship seat likewise us but we can’t talk of zoning on ethnic lines because the state is made up of various ethnic groups like Urhobo, Ijaw, Itsekiri, Isoko, Ika, Ndokwa, Oshimili, Aniocha and few others, hence the appeal for us to maintain the zoning arrangement on senatorial districts order”.


“We want to establish a sustainable system where when it gets to the turn of your senatorial district, no one from other senatorial districts will contest against the benefitting district. So the argument that Urhobo or other ethnic groups contested during the turn of other senatorial districts will no longer be there”, he added.


He appealed to the traditional rulers for support for DC-23 push for zoning arrangement on senatorial order to enable the PDP rule beyond 2023.


Top among leaders and members of DC-23 that went for the visit include Chief Ighoyota Amori, National Chairman, Chief Suru Salami, 2nd Vice National Chairman, Dr. Chris Oharisi, National Secretary, Olorogun Taleb Tebite, National Financial Secretary, Olorogun Arthur Akpowowo, National Publicity Secretary, Olorogun Andrew Orugbo, National Legal Adviser, Chief Anthony Akpomiemie Esq., National Auditor, Hon. Godwin Atose, National Organizing Secretary, Comrade Austin Opubor, National Welfare Officer, Chief Sunday Apah, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Chief Christian Onogba, Assistant National Organizing Secretary, Hon. Festus Pemu, Assistant National Publicity Secretary, Comrade Steven Akemu, National Youth Leader, Deacon Raymond Edijala, Assistant National Treasurer, Mrs. Philomena Ededey, Assistant National Welfare Officer, Hon. Elohor Urhobe, Assistant National Women Leader, Jennifer Oma Adasen, Ex-officio.


Others are Williams Etubiebi Esq., Chairman BoT, Chief Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman, BoT, Rt. Hon. Lovette Idisi, Former House of Representatives member, Chief Ejaife Odebala, Former House of Assembly member, Chief Mrs. Philomena Oyearone, Chief Andy Osawota, Chief Eunice Okoh, Chief Duncan Ewhere, Chief Dr. Isaac Akpoveta, Chief Abraham Odjighoro, Mr. Benjamin Ogbimi, Engr. Eric Osiobe, Mr. Emmanuel Francis Ishaka, Hon. Onoriode Ishegbe, Chief London Akpanoko, Chief Bestman Itive, Evang. Ejimitowovwon Emmanuel, Chief Efe Juweto, Okakuro Collins Eboh, Chief Moses Orhokpor, Representatives of Olorogun Kenneth Okpara, Representatives of Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Representatives of Chief James Augoye, Representatives of Olorogun David Edevbie and a host of others.

Omamuzo Efidhere

Omamuzo Efidhere is a registered member of the Nigerian Union of Journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *