Delta Speaker Expresses Interest To Contest 2023 Governorship Seat



*As DC-23 Initiate Plans To Prune Down Number of Aspirants


The Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, has expressed his interest to contest for the 2023 governorship position in the state, just as the Delta Central 2023 lobby group has started plans to prune down the number of governorship aspirants justling for the position in the district.


The Speaker, who expressed his interest to contest the 2023 governorship election during the DC-23 meeting held in Asaba, the state capital, said that he held the group in high esteem, hence, he felt it was good to express his interest to them to contest for the governorship seat.


He stated further that he knew that the DC-23 was working for the interest of the Urhobo people and was satisfied with the performance of the group.


According to him, “when the DC-23 started, I was with them. During its inauguration, I was also there. I never ran from them. I stood with DC-23 at the beginning, and still ensuring that it meets the set aims and objectives.”


“Many of my Urhobo brothers have come to seek prayers from DC-23 for the 2023 governorship race, I am also here for DC-23 to give me prayers for smooth victory. I am qualified and good to serve Deltans,” he said.


“The work Urhobo gave me to be Speaker of Delta State House of Assembly for over four years now, I have never disappointed them and Deltans,” the speaker added.


“I have a good working relationship with the Governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, for the interest of Delta State. When Governor started with SMART Agenda and later Stronger Delta, I stood by him to enable him finsh stronger,” he added.


On his part, National Chairman of DC-23, Senator (Chief) Ighoyota Amori, stated that the group had started plans to prune down the number of governorship aspirants from the Delta Central extraction.


He revealed that a 13 man screening committee drawn from the academia, UPU, religious class and political class has been constituted with a mandate to prune down the number of aspirants.


He explained that the committee has 6 weeks to complete their assignment from the day of formal inauguration.


He noted that the idea was to ensure that the Urhobo people front a single aspirant for the primary election, assuring that those saddled with the responsibility would not fail the Urhobo people.


He advised the Urhobo people to remain committed to the drive of the DC-23 for the governorship seat to be zoned to Delta Central Senatorial District.


According to him, “it is only zoning on senatorial district order that the PDP can continue with its winning streak in the state.”


Those that attended the meeting included Senator (Chief) Ighoyota Amori, National Chairman, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Speaker, Delta State House of Assembly, Olorogun Solomon Ighrakpata, Deputy National Chairman, Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman, BoT, Chief Suru Salami, 2nd National Vice Chairman, Dr. Chris Oharisi, National Secretary, Olorogun Taleb Tebite, National Financial Secretary, Olorogun Barr Arthur Akpowowo, National Publicity Secretary; Okakuro Isaacs Itebu, National Treasurer, Olorogun Andrew Orugbo, National Legal Adviser. Godwin Atose, National Organising Secretary, Hon. (Chief) Sunday Apah, Assistant National Publicity Secretary; Hon. Festus Pemu, Assistant National Publicity Secretary; Engr. Matthew Tsekiri, Assistant National Secretary, Deacon Raymond Edijala, Assistant National Treasurer, Chief George Osikorobia, Assistant National Auditor, Mrs. Faith Majemite, National Women Leader, Mr. Austin Opubor, National Welfare Officer, Mrs. Philo Ededey, Assistant National Welfare Officer, Hon. Best Okoromadu, Assistant National Women Leader.


Others were Hon. Sunday Emeyese, Chief Ejaife Odebala, former member of the Delta State House of Assembly; Chief A. K Osawota, Chief Mrs. Margret Unukegwo, Chief Isaac Akpoveta, Engr. Eric Osiobe, Hon. Onoriode Ishegbe, Mr. Godfrey Etabuko, Ms. Noreen Ughojor, Chief Solomon Oturu, Chief Collins Eboh, Hon. Chief Godwin Ejiyere, Chief Robert Onome, Mr. Benjamin Ogbimi, Chief Friday Orugbo, Hon. Emmanuel Oghomienor, Mr. Okoh James Edirin, Chief Lucky Emojeya, Chief Moses Orhokpor, Chief Bestman Itive, David Ejukonemu, Lucky Esokpor, Chief Syvester Akpodiete, Onogbo Francis, Mr. Emmanuel Ishaka, Hon. Maria Ememo, Chief Friday Orugbo, Hon. Wilson Agbure, Chief Michael Akpobasa, Eruke Asore, Efe Edewor, Chief Lucky Emojeya, Chief Abraham Ojighoro, Ejiro Nomuoja, ChiefPiusTuphe, ChiefEfeturhiJuweto, Ese Omamogho, Onome Okoroh, Mrs. Abigail Eduvie, Prince Samuel Robinson, Chief Goodnews Obiodeh, representatives of Olorogun Kenneth Okpara, representatives of Rt. Hon. Festus Ovie Agas, representatives of Olorogun David Edevbie, representatives of Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, representatives of Chief James Augoye, Representatives of Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi, Representatives of Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Representatives of Chief Abel Esievo and a host of others.

Omamuzo Efidhere

Omamuzo Efidhere is a registered member of the Nigerian Union of Journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *