Ughelli South Has Two Political Blocs, Not Three, Apah Refutes Etaga’s Claim



Contrary to a statement credited to former Chairman of Ughelli South Local Government Council, Hon. Paul Etaga that the local government area has three blocs, former leader of Ughelli South Legislative Arm, Rt. Hon. Sunday Apah, has stated that Ughelli South Local Government Area has two blocs and not three.


Etaga had stated, while addressing some politicians of Ewu extrction that Ughelli South Local Government Area has three blocs to enable State House of Assembly seat zone to them come 2023.


But Apah in a signed press statement, expressed surprise that Hon. Etaga who benefitted from the two blocs arrangement is saying something contrary.


He explained that it is a well known fact that Ughelli South Local Government has two constituencies represented by the the pioneer members, Hon. Dogood Mokpo (Ewu & Olomu), while (Ughievwen) by Chief J. K. W Jighu of blessed memory before one of the constituencies went into oblivion.


“The zoning formula has been on that basis and nothing less. The State House of Assembly position was in (Ewu and Olomu axis for sixteen years and Ughievwen is yet to complete its eight years not to talk of ceding it to Ewu and Olomu axis.


“I am convinced that my position is still the position of the Ughievwen people. Presently the council chairman is in (Ewu and Olomu) axis, any qualified person is free to contest from that axis come 2021. They should not be deceived by anyone that come 2023 it will be ceded to that axis through any guise”, he added.


Apah reiterated that come 2023, the Delta State House of Assembly remains in Ughievwen, and there is no way they will allow the two to remain in one axis, hence Ughievwen should be allowed to enjoy its 16 years in the State House of Assembly.

Omamuzo Efidhere

Omamuzo Efidhere is a registered member of the Nigerian Union of Journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *